Loading Events

« All Events

PAC Center Contra Dance

Tuesday, January 24, 2023, 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on Tuesday, June 28, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, July 12, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, July 26, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, August 23, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, November 8, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, November 22, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, December 13, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, December 27, 2022 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, January 10, 2023 at 7:00 pm

One event on Tuesday, January 24, 2023 at 7:00 pm

$10
Contra Dance

Featuring live musicians and skilled callers who will teach each dance beforehand then prompt it while you’re dancing.

What is contra dancing? It’s social dancing with everyone dancing the same pattern again and again up and down a long line. You’ll choose a different partner for each dance, and eventually you’ll have interacted with nearly everyone in the hall. There’s lots of swinging and lots of brisk walking and lots of smiles.

What you need to know:

  • Newcomers are welcome, and no partner is needed (but do bring your friends!).

  • Wear cool loose clothing. The hall is air-conditioned.

  • Please bring your own water bottle, also wear flat shoes, with clean, non-slippery, non-grippy soles.

  • Parking is on the street. The venue is a short walk from the Swarthmore train station.

  • Mask & vaccination alert!: Contra dancing is aerobic and everyone mixes around, therefore strict covid protocols are in effect. Masks required whenever you are in the main dance hall.

Experienced dancers & first timers all are welcome!

$10 admission fee.

Hosted by Jennifer Bee

Learn More

Photo by Jeff Bary

Details

Date:
Tuesday, January 24, 2023
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cost:
$10
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Park Avenue Community Center
129 Park Avenue
Swarthmore, PA 19801
+ Google Map